Does Having a Long Second Toe Cause Fibromyalgia?

Having a long second toe could be a cause of fibromyalgia.

Yes, you read the headline correctly.

As odd as it may seem, there are doctors who believe that having a long second toe maybe linked to fibromyaliga.

According to Dr. Dudley J. Morton, a longer second toe can cause the foot to incorrectly absorb shock when it hits the ground.

Dr. Janet Travell agrees with Morton.  She has linked having a long second toe to back, hip, knee, ankle, foot pain and Myofascial Pain Syndrome, which is often associated with fibromyalgia.

She explains that Myofascial Pain Syndrome is a condition that causes pain in the body away from the source of the stressed muscles, which could be the long second toe.

My Thoughts:

Honestly, this seems wierd to me.

Looking at my feet, I do have a long second toe…

But I find it really hard to believe that this toe receives so much stress that it causes me tremendous pain throughout my body.

So, I’d like to hear from other fellow fibro sufferers and have a little experiment to find out if having a long second toe could be a cause of fibromyalgia.

Photo courtesy of Sirsnapsalot.

Please share your comments about what you think about the long second toe connection and fibromyalgia.

This entry was posted in chronic pain, fibromyalgia, pain and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Does Having a Long Second Toe Cause Fibromyalgia?

  1. fibrorelief says:

    That’s the strangest thing I’ve ever heard. But with all the wierd stuff that comes along with FMS, CFS and MPS it wouldn’t surprise me! Keep us informed on this odd theory!

  2. Christine says:

    Yes what an odd theory! Thank you for sharing! CUTE toenails! LOVE the polka dots!

  3. That is so crazy yet mine is longer than my big toe!!!! lol oh goodness i will remove my toe if that would help!!! lol

  4. John Burden says:

    It is a very awesome information. Thanks for sharing. St. Petersburg FL back pain

  5. Pingback: Long Second Toe Follow Up | Pain, Pain, Go Away

  6. Jane says:

    My second and third toe on both feet are longer than my big toe and I would believe this to be true. I had bad bunions for years and when and I finally had surgery, it left the big toe smaller and now I have what feels like long claws as toes. They hurt all the time but right now I don’t have insurance to get surgery on them. I can’t even wear flip flops because it will cause too much pain. I can see how it would lead to lower back pain and leg pain, so this article doesn’t surprise me. You have to have surgery in order to repair this condition, at least, that is what my podiatrist said. I just hope it isn’t terribly painful like the bunion surgery was.

Leave a Reply

